Strategies, Challenges, and Answers

Nevada’s Auto Liability Compulsory Insurance Minimums To Rise

I have been practicing law in Nevada for nearly 30 years. For as long as I can remember, Nevada has required autos registered in this state to have bodily injury automobile liability insurance of at least $15,000 per person / $30,000 per occurrence.  The minimum automobile liability limit for property damages has been set at $10,000 per occurrence.  NRS 485.185 and NRS 485.3091.That is due to change on July 1, 2018. An increase in the minimum limits is set to take effect.  On that date, the … [Read more...]

Insurers Do Not Need To Produce A Signed “Must Offer” Med-Pay Waiver Form

As we explained in THIS EARLIER POST, Nevada obligates insurance companies that issue passenger car policies in the state to offer Uninsured / Underinsured Motorist coverage to its customers.  See also NRS 687B.145(2).  Insurance customers can reject UM / UIM coverage or reduce the limits of coverage to an amount less than the limits of the liability coverage.  However, when a claim arises, if the insurance company cannot provide proof of the rejection / reduction via a signed form, the court … [Read more...]